PDA

View Full Version : New here with diesel engine woes.

The_NK_Guy
11-29-2007, 10:55 PM
Hey everyone. I am new to the Land Rover world with a 1965 series IIa diesel I bought a few weeks ago. On the whole it is a very good rig, with lots of work done, and it is equipped with an interesting engine: a 2.5 NAD MOD bottom end, with a 2.25 head and injection system. When I checked it out, it ran great, with no problems, but when I got it home it started exhibiting head gasket symptoms (bubbling coolant). I kept an eye on the coolant level, and continued driving it for another 100 miles or so before it started blowing clouds of white smoke. Bummer. I tore the engine down last night and found a few problems:

1. The head is cracked visually in two locations, #2 from the intake valve to the pre-combustion chamber and also #3 same place but not all the way through yet.
2. Head gasket (2.5l) beginning to burn through on #2 steel ring. Also #4 was notched under the pre-combustion chamber so it allowed it to rattle around damaging it, the piston, and the block.

Major bummer. I think the block and the damaged piston will be fine, and the rest of the bottom end looks really clean. My questions for the group are:

1. Anyone else here run or hear of someone running a 2.5l bottom end with a 2.25 top end and injection? Have any problems with it?

2. Anyone have a good location for finding a new or remanufactured 2.25l cylinder head?

3. Any other tips or suggestions for reassembly?

4. Any other tips for preventing this from happening again? From what I understand the head was crack checked when the engine was rebuilt 10 years ago, but only 1700 miles ago! What would make it crack with such low mileage?

Thanks for your help,
Jeff C.
Portland, Oregon.

SalemRover
11-30-2007, 01:48 PM