X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NC Rover
    2nd Gear
    • Dec 2007

Problems: Diagnosis welcomed (pics)

So I'm still new to rovers and I have discovered that I have more hybrid than original series rover. So for that, I apologize if nothing looks familiar.

Either way, I crawled under the Rover after driving it around town a good bit. Noticed theres a good bit of tranny/diff oil sprayed underneath but in a concentrated area surrounding the transfer case?.

Anyone know if this is going to be a huge job to fix or what the actual problem is?

Is there any type of additive that can slow or stop the leak?

Any thoughts are welcomed as well as what you think the problem is so I can head in the right direction to get it fixed. Sorry if these are stupid questions but I'm still learning the ropes. I'll get there one day.

**See Pictures Below

1971 Series IIa Hybrid: 2.5L MILSPEC 5-Main Bearing Engine|Turner Engineering Performance Head w/ oversized hardened steel valves & phase shift/increased lift cam|LT77 Tranny/LT230 Transfer Case|11mm Ignition Wires/Super Coil|Jacobs Ignition/Petronix Ignitor|D90 Axles|Galvy Frame|Old Man Emu Coils|Cust Rear/Side Fuel Tanks|Cust Drive Shafts|
  • 4flattires
    4th Gear
    • Aug 2007

Is there oil on the ground?

From what I see, it appears the ujoint had a case of freedom of expression with a recent greasing. The ebrake drum would be pretty moist if it was the rear seal.

Jeff
    64 SIIa 109 all stock
    69 SIIa 88 all stock
    Old tractors
    New Harleys
    Old trucks

Comment

• EASTTNROVER
      Low Range
      • Oct 2007

Looks cleaner than mine...
      MA1(SW)...AKA REAL NAVY.
      88" 1968' IIA -

Comment

• LaneRover
        Overdrive
        • Oct 2006

Originally posted by 4flattires
        From what I see, it appears the ujoint had a case of freedom of expression with a recent greasing. The ebrake drum would be pretty moist if it was the rear seal.

Jeff

I concur!

Brent