PDA

View Full Version : Series 3 alternator help

madp
01-14-2008, 06:32 PM
Hi all,
I am new to rovers, I just purchased a 73 Series 3 109 SW RHD 2.25 petrol fresh of the boat from England. I am having a great time getting to know the Landy, but I am looking for some help with the alternator. It seems that the alternator is not hooked up to anything (which explains why the battery kept on dying….). I need to get this thing charging and on the cheap, so I was hoping someone could explain what wires go where, it has the standard Lucas alternator, which has the 3 spades on it and I gather from trying to decipher the Circuit diagram that 2 of the wires connect up to the starter solenoid and one goes off else where. What sized wires do I need to use and what spades of to what on the solenoid and else where? Also does there need to be an earth connection coming from the alternator? I greatly appreciate your time and assistance of this.
--James

leafsprung
01-14-2008, 06:48 PM
Might be a good idea to determine if the alternator is functioning or if there is a short. It was likely disconnected for a reason. The Lucas 16 ACR has 3 wires. 2 browns are connected to the positive side of the battery via the starter solenoid. The third brown and yellow wire is connected to the sense/warning lamp circuit.

friar mike
01-14-2008, 07:08 PM
Might be a good idea to determine if the alternator is functioning or if there is a short. It was likely disconnected for a reason. The Lucas 16 ACR has 3 wires. 2 browns are connected to the positive side of the battery via the starter solenoid. The third brown and yellow wire is connected to the sense/warning lamp circuit. If your wire's are lose and not in a plastic wire holder this may help.