PDA

View Full Version : Truck not starting... need help... I'm a rookie : (

Roverdawg76
01-27-2008, 05:47 PM
Hey all! Well, it's been ass cold outside... haven't driven the truck in about 5 weeks... the clutch master cylinder went out... SO, ordered a new slave, master cyl, new connections and flex hose. Got everything installed, seem to have good clutch pressure, no leaks but the truck won't start still. It cranks in Nuetral but doesn't act like it wants to turn over at all. Then when I have it in gear, it bogs down when I try to start it and the truck wants to launch forward. Any idea what I need to do? I can smell a little gas when I'm starting it so I think it's getting fuel. Seems like it may stilll be the clutch?

Any help would be GREATLY appretiated... so bummed and I'm clueless with this stuff! My truck is a SIII 109 with a 2.25 Petrol.

Thanks!!!!!

Leslie
01-27-2008, 06:10 PM
Clutch has nothing to do with it running or not; you could have all of that stuff off of there, and should still be able to get the engine to fire up and run.

Leave it in neutral from this point on for now, and start the usual diagnostics.

Check plugs, wires, dizzy, make sure you have spark and the timing is on. Check fuel filter (maybe in cold weather, you've had some congealing of old sludge?). Make sure you have fuel at the carb, spark at the plugs, the timing close, and it should run. Battery, battery cables, etc., check for corrosion and ensure you have good grounds.

Once you get it running again, then proceed with tuning up your clutch adjustments.

Good luck!

Roverdawg76
01-27-2008, 06:49 PM
Thanks a bunch for the input!! Ok, now for the really dumb questions... how do I check the spark on the plugs and check the timing?

Daurie
01-27-2008, 08:08 PM