PDA

View Full Version : Broken Down

PH4
01-28-2008, 01:28 PM
Just had the pleasure of spending 2 1/2 hours on side of road. Was clipping along at a good pace (60 mph) and all of a sudden sounded like something metal came loose in the engine. Louder upon deaccerlation. Idles fine. At first I thought maybe fan was hitting fan cover but no such luck. Steady white smoke out of exhaust. Just had head gasket replaced last month. Any thoughts? Metal hitting metal sound.

O'Brien
01-28-2008, 01:30 PM
you ran over and crushed a jeep?
just kidding man:D

i'm sure the wunderkinds will chime in soon with their thoughts:thumb-up:

ChrisB
01-28-2008, 01:41 PM
I am a shade-tree mechanic at best, but I had a similar problem recently in my IIA. Metal on metal sound coming from the radiator/shroud area that was erratic, but occurred regularly. The engine idled fine, but lost power on acceleration, esp. uphill, and the rattling sound got worse with acceleration.

It turned out that cylinder #1 was not firing and the spark plug was coated in fresh oil. After removing the valve cover, we discovered that the rocker arm was out of place, as the push rod was not contacting the rocker arm.

This accounted for the two problems. First, the "rattling" noise was from the rocker arm/push rod problem. #1 is closest to the fan, thus my (mistaken) belief that the noise was coming from the fan belt/shroud area. Second, the loss of power was from cylinder #1 not firing. Also, the accelerator linkage needed adjustment.

Good luck...

enovey
01-28-2008, 01:43 PM
Have you checked the oil? White smoke out the pipe usually means water/condensation burning off unlike blue smoke which is usually oil. I would check your oil now to make sure whatever let go didn't lead to a crack where the water jacket has sprung a leak into the engine.
Sorry for the ramble, just trying to get an idea of where you are at...

PH4
01-28-2008, 02:51 PM