PDA

View Full Version : Importing from Canada

east high
01-28-2008, 05:44 PM
First time poster here.

I'm an Oregon resident and I'm considering purchasing a '72 sIII rover from Canada. I'm close enough to make the drive to pick it up. Legally speaking, what do I need to know/do to make this happen? Passport? Import documents? Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks-

leafsprung
01-28-2008, 06:19 PM
Hello,
Im going to asume this is Gerad. Check out the government customs website online (google it) it will tell you everything you need to know/do. On a vehicle over 25 years, its a snap. Fill out the paperwork, pay duty and you are on your way. It will be EPA/DOT exempt, you will need a bill of sale (for the duty) and the title/registration documents. Thats all you need for the import, when you go to register it you will have to fill out some more forms at the DMV and apply for a OR title. Its pretty straightforward, but sometimes you will run into people at customs or at the DMV that arent familiar with the proceedure or the correct paperwork that will give you some flak. When you go to pick it up, stop at the border and pick up your paperwork on the way up, then when you are coming back you can have it all filled out when you get to the border, will save you some time. Good luck.

-Ike

east high
01-28-2008, 06:24 PM
Thanks Ike. How'd you know it was me? lol.

I'm still concerned about a passport. I guess it's my bad for not having one in these times.

leafsprung
01-28-2008, 06:31 PM
I donno about that, (Ive always had one) but your best bet is to call the border or call customs and get the offical word.

east high
01-28-2008, 06:48 PM
Google's telling me that a photo ID (drivers license) and birth certificate will work until the summer of '08. Looks like I might be in luck for now..

leafsprung
01-28-2008, 07:26 PM
sweet, Id double check to avoid disappointment. Sounds like youre good though

Enigma
01-28-2008, 08:25 PM