PDA

View Full Version : New to the community

sailtech
02-26-2008, 07:46 AM
I just wanted to say thanks for all the help I've received from the forum. I'm new to auto restoration in general and rovers specifically.

I've attached a picture of the 1969 RHD Series IIa that I rescued last fall.

It's difficult to explain to my wife why I would want to scrape my knuckles and pour money into what she refers to as "the british heap," when I could buy a nice shiny one on eBay. It's nice to read posts from other people who share the addiction/affliction/obsession.

Thanks again.

TSR53
02-26-2008, 09:14 AM
Welcome on-board! Looks like a nice find. Ahh, the wife will get over it. It's the smell of old original grease rather than restored grease that makes it so pleasurable upside down an your back staring at your new project. Just have some quiet time with her down below and you're good to go.

greenmeanie
02-26-2008, 09:24 AM
It's difficult to explain to my wife why I would want to scrape my knuckles and pour money into what she refers to as "the british heap," when I could buy a nice shiny one on eBay. It's nice to read posts from other people who share the addiction/affliction/obsession.

Thanks again.

It's quite easy really. My wife knows she will never lose me to another woman - a truck on the other hand. My wife also knows that if we are walking down the street and my head turns and I get all excited that I am not oggling another woman - it is either military green or an old truck or preferably both.

Just tell her it easier to be jealous of a truck than another woman. Then be prepred to spend many hours sleeping under your truck.

Cheers
Gregor

BackInA88
02-26-2008, 09:29 AM
Here's what I did.

Asked her why she is buying new shoes when there are 20 nice shiny ones in the closet?
Why she is buying new clothes when there are some still in the closet with the tags still on?
Why are there new clothes with the tags going in the Goodwill bag?