PDA

View Full Version : Over-size tires for LR3

fwilmarth
03-01-2008, 09:30 AM
I'm brand new to this so please pardon any faux pas. On my '06 V8-automatic LR3, the 17k factory GYs are nearly shot (what's new) and I'm considering replacing them with BFG All-Terrain 265/65R18s or Nitto Terra Grappler 285/60R18s. Has anyone had any first-hand experience with either of these or with other over-size tires on this particular vehicle? My concerns are primarily: 1) wheel well clearance in full-lock turns and under heavy articulation and 2): speedometer effects and power reduction due to effective higher geaing. I'd sure appreciate any feedback. This is my first LR, however, I've been a Jeeper for years and understand the issues of over-sizing. Thanks. Frank W.

solihull109
03-01-2008, 07:03 PM
Not too sure about B.F.G.'s, but I did see someone at Winter Romp with the Nitto's and I was shocked at how well they did. They were on a 2004 D2 and not an LR3, but I don't think that really has any relevance.

groundhog
03-03-2008, 09:12 PM
I'm not sure about the exact sizes, but I did see several LR3's with a bit larger tires last year at a rally in Charlottesville,VA. I have had BFG's on my 109, D90, and 1997 Disco. They have great traction on everything except slick mud which tends to pack into the tread. On all of these trucks we have gotten about 60,000 mi out of each set. I'm glad to know that the factory GY will only last about 17K as I just got an 08 LR3 and only have 4500 mi on it. Only 12,500 mi to go!:thumb-up:
Bruce

cachinfool
04-08-2008, 11:18 AM