PDA

View Full Version : Ike, TeriAnne and other Experts

pvkd
03-09-2008, 08:22 PM
I am desperate (if you excuse the expression). Please see my brake failure valve posting and pictures of my valve. Any ideas?

Thanks

Paul

leafsprung
03-10-2008, 01:26 PM
Who said I was an expert? Hopefully I can help though.

NRC 4282 was for LHD EEC cars. I think it differs from the NRC4880 in that it has one output for the front brakes as opposed to two. I dont think the orientation is important. To connect this to your car with 4 ports it should be two in from the master and 2 out to the front and rear brakes respectively (one circuit at each end of the unit). The circuits are separated from one another by the shuttle valve itself. Provided both sides have pressure the valve stays in the middle. . . As far as I know the circuits are symmetrical at each end. To obtain pictures I would try and contact some of the european club members. These weren't fitted to home market UK trucks or NADA trucks. . . Im sure you realize this is a lot of trouble and expense for marginal utility.

pvkd
03-10-2008, 07:47 PM
Ike,

Thanks for responding. The Series 3 parts manual show NRC4282 as the correct valve for 109 Station Wagons and NRC4880 as the valve for 88" up to a specific VIN and all basic 109. I don't think the valves change based up the steering side.

My valve (NRC4282) has 4 ports but if you look at my pictures on my other post you will see that there are two ports on one side, one port on the opposite side and one port on the side (if that makes sense). The side port has me confused in that I do not know if it si for the front or rear or indeed if it matters?

Also does it matter if the switch points up or down?

Thanks,

Paul

leafsprung
03-10-2008, 10:30 PM