PDA

View Full Version : Question about a 67 Series 11 A carawagon

TCapelle
03-10-2008, 05:20 PM
Hello
I am new to the Rovers north forum. I own a 90 county and 98 disco but have the itch to take the plunge and own an older Series vehicle.

I found a neat old 67 Series 2 A carawagon that is in rough shape. I am trying to understand if it is worth the price and how I should go about "investing" in the repairs- If anyone has any advice or thoughts let me know-

Objective- To get a mangy but "safe" and semi dependable series vehicle I can ride as a 3rd vehicle and take on small around town rides or a camping trip now and then- Not loking for or can afford a show quality or even "nice" rover restoration- Looking to purchase and invest $4-$5k in the rig

any advice on the following

1. The frame is in need of repair- front horn has some issues, the spring perch has some issues, outriggers have some issues- I did the screwdriver test- looks like it has numerous spots that need help- when get you do alot of patches or "condem" the frame (estimated repair cost on patches???)

2. The rover started after sitting 4 years(amazing) however the clutch pedal when pushed in stuck to the floor- Is it merely the fluid low or is is "frozen" (estimated repair??)

3. The carawagon top is a bit rotted and leaks- Has anyone successful repaired one of these? (estimated repair cost??)

I know I should probably walk away from this thing but I think I could get it for around $2500- I just don't know if I could bring it back to semi working life for another $2500...???

Thoughts?
Thx,
Tim

Terrys
03-10-2008, 05:32 PM
Simply put, my advice would be to keep looking. $2500 will buy a sound, restorable truck, but what you describe isn't sound, not to mention a Carawagon is VERY expensive to properly restore.

Alaska Mike
03-10-2008, 05:51 PM