X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • adkrover
    2nd Gear
    • Jan 2008

adjusting Series III clutch

I have a series III clutch master and slave cylinder in my truck. I recently changed the master cylinder for a new, non leaking one. It was an exact match and is a new unit, not rebuilt. My IIa manuals (most of my truck is a IIa) don't cover how to adjust the linkage or pedal freeplay on a Series III. The book suggests a 1/16" freeplay on the IIa master cylinder pushrod but I can't get it to have ANY play in it. Even with both adjusting nuts backed completely off, it doesn't wiggle in or out at all without pushing on the cylinder. It acts as if the rod is fixed to the piston. Is that typical of a Series III master cylinder?

I've completely bled out both cylinders but the clutch still requires about half of it's travel before it really starts to dissengage the clutch. The old cylinder had a much firmer pedal. I could adjust the master cylinder pushrod to decreade that travel but there I'm afraid it will cause the cylinder to hold some pressure. What's the general rule for adjusting the pedal at the master pushrod if there is no freeplay detectable?

Thanks
  • adkrover
    2nd Gear
    • Jan 2008

amazing what you find when you read

OK, so with the help of searching previous posts, I've answered my own question. Just in case anyone is interested in the solution, here goes.

1) While my cylinder does not have 1/16" of freeplay, there is a very minute but noticable freeplay so I was able to set the pushrod length so that it is not applying any pressure.