PDA

View Full Version : polished aluminum Series body

LH Drive
05-03-2008, 08:04 AM
My Series rover original color is Marine Blue and has two more coats of paint over that, final top color is White that I do not like. Plans were to strip to bare metal and re-coat with original color. Strip one panel each week while still driving the rover till it's all ready then paint. So I thought of another Idea.
The shop I work at used to offer metal polishing as a service. They still have some equipment to do small jobs and every once in a while the boss will polish up some house hold items,,brass,stainless steel, aluminum. So I asked if I could polish up some LR series parts and they gave me the go ahead. Well,,I'm no expert but with the help of other shop guys that used to do this everyday i decided to polish up my Series truck. Yep,,the whole aluminum body. I know that in order to keep that fresh polished shine I'll have to hit it every couple of months. I've seen pictures of stripped bare aluminum Series Rovers and like that look. The weather will turn my polished work into a nice flat patina in time. I can always shoot marine blue paint over the bare metal next year.
I've polished the vent covers and the front apron so far. It's very bright when the sun light hits it. I'm glad that most Police officers wear dark sunglasses or I might get pulled over:D

Firemanshort
05-03-2008, 02:32 PM
Bling.. Bling!!

Paul Rossmann
05-03-2008, 02:36 PM
Clearcoat it... but what about the bulkhead?

msggunny
05-03-2008, 03:29 PM
Clearcoat it... but what about the bulkhead?

Just get it chromed!

siii8873
05-04-2008, 09:50 AM
I think the bulkhead would look best galvanized. Alotr of work but goes with the rest of the vehicle galvanized trim (Rover Chrome as I call it)

LH Drive
05-04-2008, 05:36 PM