PDA

View Full Version : New to Rover need opinions

theroverproject
12-09-2006, 06:45 PM
Hi All,
I am new to this BBS, I am interested in purchasing a 96 or 97 P38A, I would like to get some opinions about what to look for, reliability, estimate cost to run, etc anything that might give me a heads up so I can purchase the right one.
Any info is much appreciated.
:thumb-up:

Mungrol
12-10-2006, 11:11 PM
G'day Mate,

If you can swing it.... I would reccomend a 99 to 02 P38, the reason being... Bosch electronics.... I did heaps of research on it when I went to upgrade from my 94 LWB to current 00 4.6 H&H. Just from what I have "heard". Don't get me wrong... any of the 96 and on P 38's are good to go. I just found that the 00's were about the same price so that is what I went with.
Just my .02
Cheers,

Curly

JSalyer
12-13-2006, 08:51 AM
Well,
being a sucker for punishment and one that has to own and dabble in every LR product, I owned a 95 P38...

So,
Buy as new as you can afford, but with as complete a set of service records as possible. Some people follow maintenance, some have more money than sense(ie the lawyer that came in on a tow truck 2.5 years after buying his 97 RR and the engine siezed up. He had 75K miles and NEVER changed the oil. LRNA determined the low oil light had been on for probably something like 6-8 months)

Butter up your dealers service writer, take him a cup cake and milk and say "I'm thinking of buying a 2nd gen. RR, I want to pick your brain"

Once you have become his best buddy, and you have the Vin # of a couple of candidate RR's, have him run the VIN #s and print the service history and warranty history(he should have no problem with doing this, but dont walk in at 5:30 pm when all the pissed off people are trying to pay for service and pick up thier cars)