PDA

View Full Version : Series III Body Work

pyounts
07-25-2008, 04:15 PM
Does anyone know of anyone experienced in LR Series body work in NC? Preferably between Charlotte and Greensboro, NC.

thixon
07-26-2008, 10:02 PM
What kind of body work? Most body shops should be able to handle anything you throw at them, but you might not want to pay what they'll ask to do it.

pyounts
07-27-2008, 11:14 AM
I admit I'm new to these vehicles, but in reading about the etching process, dealing with the pop rivets and the annealing - it just seemed to me you would want someone who had dealt with these types of vehicles before. The SIII I have was painted befoe I got it, but there are a few cracks where it looks like they did something wrong.

thixon
07-27-2008, 05:09 PM
When you say cracks, do you mean in the aluminum body panels? Or, do you mean cracks in the paint surface. If you mean cracks in the aluminum body panels, send me some photos. Depending on where/how big/etc. you might just be better off buying a new panel.

pyounts
07-27-2008, 05:47 PM
No, it is just in the paint surface. But the color is a really glossy hunter green that shows every dent in the body. Most panels I could live with just fine, but the drivers door fits poorly and would probably need replacing. I think it has just been slammed shut so many times that it no longer matches the slight curve of the body. For some reason both side doors have waves in the top metal above the window. I was thinking of going back to the original light blue I see in the bed and under the hood.

thixon
07-27-2008, 08:40 PM
Some of what you're describing sounds pretty normal. You're right about the dark color. It will show every imperfection in the body. I always laugh when I see black defenders. Marine blue is a better color all around on a rover if small imperfections bug you. It definately won't show dings and dents off as much.