PDA

View Full Version : 4.0 L searching when cold

disco stu
07-28-2008, 09:30 AM
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum due to my recent aquisition of a 97 Discovery 1. I have had it on the road for about 3 weeks, and since I replaced the y-pipe with the cats the engine seems to be hunting/searching, as it was running smooth before. This only seems to occur when its cold... at idle it will surge up and down about 200 rpm either way... same when driving, as soon as the engine warms up no more surging... the speedo also jumped to zero stuck for a drive or two and jumped back into action, and it seemed to effect the tach revs when the speedo jumped (it also idled at like 1500 when the speedo was kicked out, but only in neutral and park) I have the sneeking suspition it is the IAC valve... but figured that any opinions would be a great help. Oh and its an auto tranny. I am a mechanic myself so i do most all my own work, this site is great, and those cats were wayyyy cheaper through rovers north than the OEM! Thanks guys.

Stu

ptschram
07-29-2008, 08:34 AM
REset your adaptive values. The new cats probably flow better and the ECU is confused.

disco stu
08-02-2008, 07:14 PM