PDA

View Full Version : Serie 3 109 periodically dead

Green
08-08-2008, 04:23 AM
Hello enthusiast! My mother (yes my mother!) has a Serie 3 109 millitary version in good condition but lately it is impossible to start and if it starts it can suddenly stop. The starter turn but no life signs. Then if I try again after some days it starts perfectly and can go for half an hour and dies again.

We have drained the fuel tanks (some dirt there) and the carburators and changed plug and plug wires to non millitary standard.

It has the 2,2 liter engine.

Any ideas would be highly appreciated!

Best regards from Norway

graniterover
08-08-2008, 05:53 AM
Coil?

Green
08-08-2008, 06:51 AM
I have little experience with these cars but it looks like it has two coils? Are the coils likely to start and stop working all by themselves? How to be certain it is the problem before getting new ones? Thank`s for posting :thumb-up:

SafeAirOne
08-08-2008, 07:32 AM
Depending on year of manufacture, some Rovers have a screen on the bottom of the fuel draw (intake) tube in the fuel tank. If you have this screen, did you clean it? Did you change the fuel filter?

If the screen or filter is clogged, the engine can run for a time, then die of fuel starvation. After some time, the engine will start again, but then die of fuel starvation again.

Leslie
08-08-2008, 08:52 AM
Depending on year of manufacture, some Rovers have a screen on the bottom of the fuel draw (intake) tube in the fuel tank. If you have this screen, did you clean it? Did you change the fuel filter?

If the screen or filter is clogged, the engine can run for a time, then die of fuel starvation. After some time, the engine will start again, but then die of fuel starvation again.