PDA

View Full Version : Welding on frame...reinforceing frame??

esquivelia
09-19-2008, 07:22 AM
Anyone have experience welding on the frame to reinforce the frame?
pointers? Suggestions?

Rineheitzgabot
09-19-2008, 08:24 AM
You probably need to provide more details.

-Are you reinforcing a damaged/rusted place, or is it in good shape and you are just reinforcing it because you want to?

-What kind of questions do you have? Are you a novice welder, or experienced?

By narrowing it down, you will likely get more input from guests.

-Gary

esquivelia
09-19-2008, 11:40 AM
I'd say I'm an intermediate welder.. I've welded in the marine industry and sign industry...mostly aluminum.

Daurie
09-19-2008, 01:29 PM
What sections are you wanting to reinforce? What welding process are you most familiar with? Formerly working with mostly Alum. i suspect Tig and some mig.

esquivelia
09-19-2008, 07:23 PM
actually mig welding.. I have one that has the spool right on the gun for aluminum. The spots that need reinforcement are the horns just above the front axle. :)

I Leak Oil
09-20-2008, 08:30 AM
Not sure what the question here is. It's just a carbon steel frame. Clean it up and plate it as needed. If it's rusty then replacement horns are available. Take good measurements and weld away!
Jason T.

Tim Smith
09-20-2008, 08:53 AM
I had a break in the front horn once and it was right where the front cross member was oposite. Looks like a weak spot so I opted for a new frame.

Glad I did because once the truck was off the frame, I could see that there really wasn't much meat left in the frame to weld to. If I were to do this repair, then I'd probably want to cut out the old sides of the frame and weld in new ones. This is opposed to just welding in reinforcing plates on the sides and bottom.

Just wouldn't have been enough meat in the old frame to make a strong repair.

SafeAirOne
09-20-2008, 07:40 PM