PDA

View Full Version : Valve adjustment questions...

NC Rover
10-17-2008, 12:35 PM
So i'm learning my way thorugh the rover. Someone gave me the run down on adjusting valves. Can anyone explain the theory of 8's...or is it theory of 9's..or am I just way off? I know its something to do with working on the front and back valve...turning the motor over just a hair....then working on valve 2 and 7 etc etc. I dont' know if I'm making sense here. I know how to adjust them. I just wasn't sure which ones to work on first and so on and so fourth. Any info appreciated. Sorry I'm still a noob on engine work but getting better....I refuse to pay someone to work on the Rover. :)

-Nick

jp-
10-17-2008, 12:42 PM
NC, the green book covers this.

However, I have always adjusted both valves per cylinder with that cylinder on TDC of the compression stroke. Then spin the engine over until it is on the compression stroke of the next cylinder. I've never had any issues doing it this way.

yorker
10-17-2008, 03:37 PM
http://www.fourfold.org/LR_FAQ/Series/FAQ.S.tuning_2.25l.html

TUNING LAND ROVER 2.25 PETROL ENGINES
This is a brief "how to" guide for tuning your 2.25 petrol Land Rover. I hope it is not to vague.

It is best to tune an engine when warm. Try to combine the tune-up with an oil change. After a lot of winter starts with the cold start (choke) on, a certain amount of gasoline blows by the piston rings into the crankcase, affecting the oil pressure, lubrication and the way the engine runs in general.

So warm it up, change the oil, and then start with the valves. I know the valve cover plate says " Hot or Cold" but always try to adjust them hot (read warm). Follow this sequence:

1 open adjust 8,
2 open adjust 7,
3 open adjust 6,
4 open adjust 5 or visa/versa.