PDA

View Full Version : info on front hubs

Donnie
11-28-2008, 07:12 PM
Hi team, I see that WARN hubs seem to be all over the place..that is very common??? On my 1967 109 rhd wagen the hubs must be turned in by a spanner..On my halfbreed, that is a 109 chassis with an 88 top, 2 foot bed pickup, the previous owner built this truck with a Ford 302, & several other mods, It is equipped with Fairey hubs...They have a rather hefty knob to access the hubs....I am just seeking comments on these 2 (at least to me) styles of hubs, thanks,Donnie:confused:

leafsprung
11-28-2008, 07:15 PM
The hubs you have on your 67 are MAP they are very good. The others you have are fairey, they are not nearly as good. The warns M-11s are good as well. You can see more hubs here:

http://www.pangolin4x4.com/pangolin4x4/reference/lib/fwh/fwh.html

usadventureracing
11-29-2008, 09:09 PM
My 88 is all wheel drive all the time and I am new to this so be kind....is there something out there that I can install to make it a 2 wheel drive and add locking hubs. If so does anyone have any suggestion on hubs. Thanks

Apis Mellifera
11-29-2008, 09:26 PM
Pushing the red knob forward and confirming that the yellow knob is up would be 2WD. You don't need to install anything to make it 2WD. If it won't go out of 4WD in the above configuration, something isn't right in your transfer case.

I'm very happy with the Warn hubs on my SIII.

LaneRover
11-30-2008, 07:05 AM
I had a Rover (wait I still have it so I have a Rover that isn't currently running) that I had to use a bungi to hold the lever up as it liked to slip back down into 4WD.