PDA

View Full Version : clutch / brake issues

dansalisbury72
12-01-2008, 06:31 PM
My clutch also stopped clutching the other night, so Jared's earlier post and responses came in very handy while I was trying to remedy the situation. I topped the fluid back off, bled the line, and all seems well again. Clutch now clutches, which is good.
However, the brake fluid was also low (in the same cylinder on mine - clutch in the inner cylinder, brake in the outer cylinder), so I decided to bleed the brake lines yesterday, as they had degraded over time to a 'double pump' in order to get decent brake pressure. I am no expert on brakes but the directions in my manual seemed quite clear, so away I went. After bleeding the lines and re-adjusting the brakes, I took it for a spin and it was basically back to the way it was when I started - the first brake pump was nothing and the second brake pump had decent pressure. I left it at that and on the way home from work tonight it was going back and forth, sometimes it required the old double pump, and sometimes I had immediate brake pressure (which is what I had expected after the brake adjustment, as I only backed them 1/8th turn off the drum).
So my question to all you brake experts - what did I do wrong or what do I need to do next? Why is it going back and forth now?

thanks, and sorry for the long post...

Dan in NC

Linus Tremaine
12-01-2008, 07:42 PM
Dan,
did the brakes ever work correctly?

109 rear brakes are often not installed right. If the truck brakes never worked you may want to check this:

http://www.expeditionlandrover.info/landRoverFAQ/FAQ_rearbrakes.htm

If you are still having trouble it is likely that there is still air trapped in the top of the master cylinder or in the two top wheel cylinders in the front.