PDA

View Full Version : New Series owner, old hat with Rovers

mechman
12-03-2008, 07:55 PM
Hi everyone!

My name is Frank, and I am a Rover owner.

I've recently purchased my first Series Rover, a Marine blue 1960 Series II NADA 88 hardtop. It has a Fairey overdrive, accessory heater (kind of a rig job, but it seems to work OK), 12v negative earth electrics with an alternator conversion, and is 100% complete and working. The motor purrs beautifully, and even the tires are nice. It needs frame horns and a rear crossmember desperately, but otherwise the frame looks pretty clean. I understand it was a rich man's toy...

I'm a former Series mechanic (though I work on most any antique European vehicles). I worked for a few years (several years ago) at a local Rover shop, mainly on ex-NATO IIA's and III's (oh boy do I know those rectified AC 24v systems), though I've worked on just about every type of truck LR made up to the HSE. And a few Rover sedans. I've never actually owned a Rover before, however - I've been more of a VW/Porsche guy. I'm VERY happy that I can finally join the owners' club. :D

I'm looking forward to getting to know the crowd here. When working for the Rover shop I found that Series owners generally fit one of two types - the **** British car nuts who wanted everything to be factory perfect, and the (much more common) laid-back wheelin' type who took their machines out into the wild and got them muddy. I'm definitely one of the latter group! ;)

Mech

BackInA88
12-04-2008, 05:44 AM
Welcome Frank :thumb-up:
Great bunch of guys here always willing to help although it sounds like you will be doing most of the helping with your experience.;)

Now let's see some pictures of your rig!

Steve

LaneRover
12-04-2008, 07:09 AM
Hi everyone!

My name is Frank, and I am a Rover owner.

It has a Fairey overdrive, accessory heater (kind of a rig job, but it seems to work OK)