X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JackIIA
    5th Gear
    • Dec 2008

Welding Birmabright

I'm getting way ahead of myself given I'm still working on the innards of my truck, but the post about owners having a hard time finding body panels got me thinking.

Does anyone have experience welding birmabright? I'm not a novice welder, but by no means an expert either. I've worked only with steel (e.g. rebuilding my bulkhead), no aluminum. I have a MIG (Lincoln SP-175 plus) and I've got the aluminum welding kit also.

Two questions then:

Is there significant difficulty with pooling? E.g., does birmabright fade right away into a weld pool (ruining the panel). What are the warning signs?

Can I use any kind of aluminum sheets (of similiar gauge) when welding rover panels, or would a 'pure' aluminum panel get into the same problems you'd experience welding steel and aluminum together.

If it's insanely difficult, I'll consider sourcing the panels. Thanks.
    1970 88 IIA
  • KingSlug
    1st Gear
    • Oct 2006

You might want to ask Ike Goss of Pangolin 4x4. He does some good work and posted it over on Guns and Rovers.

Thought you guys might like to see some aluminum work. The first is a 80 inch dash panel that had a lot of non standard holes. The second was an 88 tr

Jared
    Visit The Wandering Hippo (my 109 S2A Ambulance).

Comment

• 4flattires
      4th Gear
      • Aug 2007

Wow....nice work

Those shots are simply inspiring. I can stick and gas weld, but have only attempted alu with alu rod and gas with NOT the same results.

Guess I need to expand my tool selection to accomodate alu.

Jeff
      64 SIIa 109 all stock
      69 SIIa 88 all stock
      Old tractors
      New Harleys
      Old trucks

Comment

• KingSlug
        1st Gear
        • Oct 2006