PDA

View Full Version : Wire Gauge??

SafeAirOne
01-01-2009, 11:49 AM
Anyone know if there is a list of the wire gauges used for the different components/circuits on Series rovers?

Example: The wire going between the choke warning light and the choke switch is white with a blue tracer and is ____ gauge.

I'm not so concerned with the colors, but rather the wire size, since the same color wire is use in different gauges for different functions (the white wires are a good expample of this).

alaskajosh
01-01-2009, 01:28 PM
I see what you're getting at.. but why not just go "plenty big" (as big as the biggest LR used in there) and stay with a common size? That way you're not having to buy half-a-dozen spools of different gauges to do your job.
And never have to wonder if the Lucas engineers that you're copying even used an appropriate size there to begin with.

I'm no expert. If I'm wrong here let me know!

Kind regards, Josh

gudjeon
01-01-2009, 05:55 PM
I used 14 gauge multi-stranded automotive wire for the making of my harness. Used it on everything except battery and alternator charging wire. No probs 4 years on now.:thumb-up:

SafeAirOne
01-01-2009, 06:56 PM
I see what you're getting at.. but why not just go "plenty big" (as big as the biggest LR used in there) and stay with a common size? That way you're not having to buy half-a-dozen spools of different gauges to do your job.

There may be an electrically correct answer, but I don't know it. My personal answer is that I want to stay as faithful to the original as possible while correcting obvious deficiencies or making the improvements that I desire.

I think it'll be easy to determine which correct wire size to use after all--I've poked around and found out that they only used three wire sizes in Rovers. Not to oversimplify it, but they are: Thin, Medium and Thick. All three sizes are available in all the factory colors.