PDA

View Full Version : T-max winches

vkjar
02-21-2009, 04:58 PM
I am looking at a Tmax winch for the front of my 88" SIIa has anyone out there used these winches?

looking at either their regular 9000lb or The 9000lb competition series winch which has caught my fancy as it comes with synthetic line and weighs only 60lbs or so.

What about mounting plates to fit a series?

Thanks

I Leak Oil
02-21-2009, 05:46 PM
I have no direct experience with them but have heard good things about the reliability of the solenoids. I'd stay away from the competion series as you're bound to get better longevity and practicality out of the regular winch offering. They seem to be priced in line with a Warn or Superwinch and even Ramsey. If I were to buy a new unit I'd go with one of the proven heritatge units.
My 2 cents...
Jason T.

leafsprung
02-21-2009, 07:12 PM
Tmax winches: DESIGNED, ENGINEERED AND MERCILESSLY TESTED IN AUSTRALIA . . .but made from generic parts in china. Take your pick: bulldog, t-max, venom, gorilla, summit are all about the same (some are identical with different labels.) At the end of the day I would VERY HAPPILY pay more for a used Warn 8274 than a new "chinese smoker"

spacemutt
02-22-2009, 04:26 AM
T-Max have been around just as long as Warn. Just shows what good marketing can do.

T-Max winches are fine. Don't know if you can buy spares for them though.

leafsprung
02-22-2009, 08:58 AM
T-Max have been around just as long as Warn. Just shows what good marketing can do.

Really?

From the T-max website:

T-Max as a brand winches and off-road accessories was begun in 1993

From the warn website:

Founded in 1948 by Arthur Warn, Warn Industries began producing locking hubs for surplus World War II Jeeps

Eric W S
02-22-2009, 09:07 AM

I'd never use a T-Max. You get what you pay for, especially in winches.

Buy an 8274 from Warn if your going to actually to recover your Rover off road.

I Leak Oil
02-22-2009, 09:25 AM