PDA

View Full Version : Stranded on Day 2

navydevildoc
03-07-2009, 08:13 PM
Well, picked up my '65 IIA on Friday, and decided to go for a spin today just a few miles down the road to the auto supply store. Had fun going down the road, still getting used to a RHD truck.

On the way back, I started noting a very sharp loss of power when I pressed down on the accelerator pedal. She idles fine, but as soon as I try to give her gas, she bogs down or dies. Ended up getting stuck in a parking lot about half a mile from home, and a buddy of mine was nice enough to come over and tow me back home with his Dodge truck. Needless to say, there was lots of Land Rover jokes along the way.

I have a feeling it's a fuel delivery problem either to the carb or in the carb, but since I have never worked on a Series before, and don't yet have the Big Green Book to help me out, I am kind of mystified on how to check the fuel filter. I see the bowl on the fuel pump, and it looks like it's full of gas, but I am really not sure where to start.

I warned you all you would be faced with dumb questions! Any advice would be helpful. She has an original Solex carb.

scott
03-07-2009, 08:38 PM
the old pick up tubes in the tank are notorious for cloging. was the sed bowl on the pump less than full?

Cosmic88
03-07-2009, 09:29 PM
The exact same thing happened to me today. Thankfully I was able to sputter home to the workshop. Since I have a new fuel tank and carb gaskets on the way (from our host) I decided to to "It all" today. Removed the carb (mine is the Zenith 36)and completely cleaned it and checked jets for any blockage. Removed dist. cap and checked / cleaned points, pulled out old gas tank and flushed all fuel lines and sediment bowl.

Just another Saturday...

I'd start at the fuel tank then on to the pump / filter and if those are fine and working move onto the carb.

navydevildoc
03-07-2009, 09:56 PM