PDA

View Full Version : New Purchase, some advice please?

Alk-3
03-15-2009, 05:20 PM
Hey Everyone, I'm new to Land Rovers, and have some questions regarding a series 111.
It's a 1973 in really nice condition (I think).
It's a short wheelbase
2.25L engine 4 speed

Is there anything I should look for as far as corrosion? The current owner said in order to be certified it will need to have some tabs on the chassis replaced (he said it's common for the series 111 trucks). Does this make sense to anyone? Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

I'm also wondering what the max speed is for these. I need to able to drive about 300km once in a while to get to my cottage, and would prefer to use the highways to get there. Is this doable? If it's not is there an overdrive unit that can be retrofitted (and is that a big job)?

I'm not new to older vehicles (I have a 1948 chev truck) but new to land rovers, and 4 wheel drives in general. I'm hoping to use this truck to do some land maintenance on my lake property (dragging trees from the lake each spring) as well as hauling junk to the dump up our steep hill, and getting construction materials to the job site.

LaneRover
03-15-2009, 05:43 PM
Hey Everyone, I'm new to Land Rovers, and have some questions regarding a series 111.
It's a 1973 in really nice condition (I think).
It's a short wheelbase
2.25L engine 4 speed

Is there anything I should look for as far as corrosion? The current owner said in order to be certified it will need to have some tabs on the chassis replaced (he said it's common for the series 111 trucks). Does this make sense to anyone? Can anyone shed some light on this for me?

I'm also wondering what the max speed is for these. I need to able to drive about 300km once in a while to get to my cottage, and would prefer to use the highways to get there. Is this doable? If it's not is there an overdrive unit that can be retrofitted (and is that a big job)?