PDA

View Full Version : tail gate lock not working



skintoe
04-17-2009, 03:57 AM
All other door locks working apart from tail gate, when we press key fob and inside unlock button the door remains locked. we can hear a noise like usual but nothing happens . any ideas greatfully received

L R 3 discovery 2005 V8 SE

scott
04-17-2009, 04:48 PM
sound is probably the servo working. i'd suspect the linkage between servo and latches

skintoe
04-25-2009, 07:24 AM
Thanks Scott you were right about the linkage, the nipple on the end of the cable had come off, do you know if you can just buy the cable or do you need to buy the whole thing? I live in the backs of beyond and miles from the nearest parts dept. and they dont speak English.

Thanks Skintoe

Les Parker
04-27-2009, 06:01 PM
Hello there,

After checking data, it would appear you need to buy the whole rear load area lock, cable and all.
We currently do not have this part on the shelf

:(

bbyer
05-24-2010, 03:23 PM
The part you need is called the Liftgate Latch assembly and is part number LR017470. The cost runs around 25 pounds.

It is a common repair item; at least on the 3's; I think the newer replacement units are better made now. The new one comes with the actuator cable attached.

I note that while everything is all apart and exposed, that some owners are attaching a piece of thin metal wire rope, (fishing leader), (similar to shown), to the assembly so that the next time the latch fails with the lift gate closed, that they can get the lower door open by pulling on the other end of the leader left sticking out from under the door carpet.

Make certain that when you attach the leader, that when you pull on it, you have sufficient movement to actually move the main cable sufficiently. Some clamp the leader right to the cable as sometimes the cable breaks just before it enters the latch, and then, no joy.

whannarover
12-29-2011, 07:16 PM
Had them same issue with my 06lr3 could hear the servo working but gate did notopen. The buton the door had corroded contacts.. cleaned em up and it works great now.