PDA

View Full Version : series II wiper motor conversion question

willyswagon
06-10-2009, 06:13 PM
I have a 60 series II 109 and have the ability to buy the stuff off a series III to convert the wiper motors to the single set up. It seems like the holes in the bottom that the shafts go through don't match up. Should I buy the entire windshield frame out of the parts truck or is it easyer to drill a new hole or two in my frame.

Also same truck new question. The right hand rear axle flange has no plug in it to fill the full floating assembly with gear oil. This normal? I noticed it's the side closer to the diff and may get lubed off that.

I am new to rovers so sorry if the questions are simple.
Stephen

graniterover
06-10-2009, 06:37 PM
SII and SIII windshield frames are very different in the way they bolt to the bulkhead. You can't just swap them without welding. Just rebuild the SII motors. You can do it in one night sitting in front of the TV. I guess if you could find a late IIa windshield frame it would have the correct holes in it, but I'm not certain.

The gear oil in the axle comes from the diff. Just check that and keep it full.

Buy a manual.

Have fun.

willyswagon
06-10-2009, 07:49 PM
Ok that sounds great, Thanks for the info. My current wipers work fine I just wanted the extra speeds.

Mike Koch
06-11-2009, 02:32 PM
Some early IIA enthusiasts have taken their existing wiper motors to a local marine shop and found something that matches, but with improved performance.

JSBriggs
06-12-2009, 07:52 PM
The shafts from dual motor wipers go through the windshield frame. The single motor set up (both 2a & 3) go through a holes in the bulkhead. You could make a blanking plate for you windshield frame if you wanted to convert.

-Jeff

greenmeanie
06-13-2009, 01:16 PM