PDA

View Full Version : Tappet repair ???

rbonnett
07-06-2009, 12:37 PM
I have a loud tappet sound coming from 6 or 7 (I think , using my cone of paper stethoscope). I re-adjusted the push rods, drove around for a while and then re-checked. That seems OK. So I'm going to pull the head and replace at least the bad tappet. This is a job I haven't tacked before. Questions I have:

- Short of pulling the camshaft, will it seem obvious that the roller, slide or guide are bad as opposed to a bad lobe on the cam itself?
- Since I'll have the head off, its tempting to just do them all, $$$ aside. Is there a downside to that, other than having 8 X as many chances to screw up?
- Any tips or gotchas that aren't in the GB or Haynes?
- How long a job should this be, given its my first time. The weather is iffy here right now, so I can wait til I have a whole weekend of no rain to start this.

Thanks

thixon
07-06-2009, 10:18 PM
To make sure I'm clear, when you say you adjusted the pushrods, I'm assuming you mean you adjusted the valve tappet clearance. Is that right?

If so, were you able to adjust said clearance to factory spec (.010)? Also, did you adjust in the proper sequence?

I just want to clear this up before I try to diagnose.

Also, don't pull the head just yet.

Tim Smith
07-07-2009, 01:28 AM
Don't pull the head unless you have another reason to.

Just to be sure, I'll let you know that I've found pushrods riding outside their normal position after a head pull. Lots of noise and weird running until I figured it out. Not saying this is your case but do take care and make sure you have everything in position before diagnosing bad gear.

Even if the rods are bad, it's not the cam shaft you are pulling. Just the rocker cam bar (on top of the head). This is simple and all you have to remember is to keep the springs and cams in place.

Then once it's out, you should be able to shine a flashlight down to the cam rollers and identify a problem down there.