PDA

View Full Version : Instructional help wanted - Portland, ME

rbonnett
07-17-2009, 09:20 AM
I have 3 jobs pending on my SIII 88", 2 of which I've never done before. If there is anyone in the Portland, ME area who would be willing to do some hands-on teaching, I'd appreciate it.

1) Tie-rod ends. Mine all need to be replaced. This is something I would normally take in to a shop, but I would like to learn how to do it. It seems simple enough from the manual, but since consequences are so dire I've hesitated to jump into it on my own. If someone can walk me through doing at the easily accessible ones one the track rod/tie rod, I could do the ones on the longitudinal rod later (those look a real pain to get at)

2) I have a rocker assembly bolt that got the threads stripped out by the PO over-torquing. This is one of the smaller bolts that go thru the center of the brackets. I have the replacement bolt from our hosts, and whoever I talked to there suggested using a tap to clean the threads up in the head before replacing it. Never done any tap and die work, and don't have the tools for it. I would hate to ruin an otherwise good cylinder head.

3) Timing - I've never felt like I've really done a good job adjusting timing. There's nothing really off about how my engine is running, but it would be good to at least have a more experienced set of eyes on it with me.

Thanks

msggunny
07-17-2009, 09:41 AM
I have 3 jobs pending on my SIII 88", 2 of which I've never done before. If there is anyone in the Portland, ME area who would be willing to do some hands-on teaching, I'd appreciate it.