PDA

View Full Version : engine won't idle, foot off the gas and it dies

NickDawson
08-02-2009, 03:47 PM
Hey folks - my pride in my recent mechanical triumph over the transfer case leak has been short lived.

We went out to the river today and the rover made the 15 mile trek on the highway just fine. About 1/2 way though the day the battery in the boat died so I pulled the rover down to the ramp to jump the boat (think I'm a rover novice? you should see me on the water, total mess) - it was in with the water level about at the hubs on the front tires (back dry)...ran fine during that ordeal...

When I went to leave the landing this evening I noticed that it stalled after starting, I assumed it was coke so I adjusted accordingly... but even after running for 5 minutes it kept stalling every time I took my foot off the gas, regardless of choke position.

It made for an interesting trip home - I took the back roads (should have just stayed on the highway) so every stop light required some coordination between neutral, gas and left foot breaking. If it was a rolling stop I could pop the clutch and gas it and it re-started.

I woldn't think water in the electrical system would be the case as it wasn't misfiring, with a little gas it ran fine.

Any ideas where to start (pun sightly intended)?

Terrys
08-02-2009, 05:09 PM
Do you have a fuel shutoff solinoid on your carb (Like a Webber has) That is intended to shut fuel off at idle. If it became disconnected, that would explain the stalling without your foot on the throttle.

NickDawson
08-02-2009, 05:39 PM
Do you have a fuel shutoff solinoid on your carb (Like a Webber has) That is intended to shut fuel off at idle. If it became disconnected, that would explain the stalling without your foot on the throttle.

the short answer is that yes I have a Webber