PDA

View Full Version : Series IIA &%$#!! Bushings - Need help!

brunomacarto
09-04-2009, 10:48 PM
After 15 years of ownership (I got her in high school), I'm finally getting around to rebuilding my '64 Series IIA. Over the years, I've done lots of tinkering, but I'm still far from a mechanic. I'll give my best description, let me know if you have any tips, thoughts.

I have the whole front end off. I now have the motor on the chasis, plus bulkhead and rear bed. I ordered RN parabolic springs, OM Emu shocks, and new polybushings (the kit, with 1Ls and 1Ns).

After a long day with many explitives, I've popped out the original bushings on the front right side (aft of the shock). If I understand it correctly, this is the spring shackle bushing, right? At this point, I'm feeling victorious and thought I'd try to install my new polybushings. Well, they don't just 'slide right in'. In fact, I had to get a pretty mammoth clamp, and some dishsoap to jam them in there. Now, new bushings installed, I can't (by hand or clamp) install the new center cylinder in through the new (orange) polybushings without torqueing the new bushing.

So, here are my questions:
1. Am I going about this wrong?
2. Any chance I bouught the wrong part (the RN kit for Series vehicles)?
or lastly
3. Did I leave out a step?

When I cleaned out the debris of the old bushing from the sleeve in the frame, I noticed that there is a gap on the inside of the cylinder, as if two smaller radius cylinders had been welded within the sleeve and they don't quite meet in the center. Do these have to come out?

Last question... Can someone tell me if these polybushings are worth all of this crap??? I'm only @ the first corner, and I'm already dreading the work for the other side and the rear.

Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated. Many Thanks, Brian

scatterling
09-05-2009, 05:02 AM