PDA

View Full Version : Carburetor

LRMAN
09-28-2009, 05:39 AM
Which ones work best on a IIa 2.25 petrol? Easiest to maintain/rebuild? Which ones go longest between rebuilds?

Weber?
Rochester?
Zenith?
SU?
Carter?

Any others?

LaneRover
09-28-2009, 08:56 AM
Are you one of those people that just likes to stir the pot? ;-)

Bertha
09-28-2009, 09:19 AM
Here is a quick response:

Weber -good reliable carb, not the fastest, good on gas
Rochester- reliable carb, good power, a bit of a gas guzler
Zenith- not a great carb, hard to get rebuilt properly,
SU-never seen one on a 2.25 motor
Carter- I have no real experience with this one
One you forgot:
Solex- reliable carb, makes good power, slightly less fuel efficient than a weber, looks most appropriate in early trucks.

LRMAN
09-28-2009, 09:57 AM
Are you one of those people that just likes to stir the pot? ;-)

Sorry, didn't know this was a sore point.

My weber is not working well and trying to determine if it is worth rebuilding or going to something better.

Bertha
09-28-2009, 10:28 AM
Sorry, didn't know this was a sore point.

My weber is not working well and trying to determine if it is worth rebuilding or going to something better.

Try rebuilding it-the kits are cheap and it is one of the easier carbs to rebuild and get working properly.

LaneRover
09-28-2009, 10:43 AM
Sorry, didn't know this was a sore point

Just joking around, there are a few things that people feel strongly about and this is probably one of them.

LRMAN
09-28-2009, 12:07 PM
Just joking around, there are a few things that people feel strongly about and this is probably one of them.

I figured as much Lane.

Next question: What is the best color to paint your Rover?:eek: Kidding as well.

LaneRover
09-28-2009, 12:47 PM
I wish that I had more to contribute than just a smart ass comment!