PDA

View Full Version : Turns over but does not start

privanon
10-20-2009, 12:03 PM
I was gone for a year and the truck was sitting in covered storage for a year. Before I left I filed the tank completely and added two cans of fuel stabilizer. After getting back the truck turned over and started with lots of smoke. I drove it about 60 miles without any major issues other than an occasional backfire. Now it no longer starts but it does turn over. I replaced: rotor, cap, coil and wires. Unfortunately I did not have a set of new points or spark plugs on hand ( they should show up any day now). The tank is still 3/4 full of the old gas.
I am not a professional mechanic as you may be able to tell by my description of the problem.

greasyhandsagain
10-20-2009, 12:36 PM
Would like it if your wife served you a meal of year and a half old food?

Dump that old petrol and get some fresh premium in there. Buy a can of starting fluid (ether) and shoot some of that into the carb. Before you do that, at least pull your old plugs out, and take a good look at them. If they are carboned all up....clean them or get new plugs.

Dont forget to have a well charged battery and to set the choke, put her in neutral and stomp down on the clutch.

Say three times "Please, Rover, Run!" "Please, Rover, Run!" "Please, Rover, Run!"

Inhale deeply, and exhale...........now turn the key.

Prepare to hear your engine running at that point.

KevinNY
10-20-2009, 12:52 PM
If you overloaded it with fuel stabilizer your plugs may be fouled, pull one and check.

bmohan55
10-20-2009, 12:54 PM
Say three times "Please, Rover, Run!" "Please, Rover, Run!" "Please, Rover, Run!"

That's my problem, I forget to say please! Momma would be so disappointed in me.

stomper
10-20-2009, 02:37 PM