PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Help: Where to look for rust and other problems?

dawgvet
12-29-2009, 06:51 AM
I am new to Series trucks and would like some info on where to look for rust on older trucks. I know the bulkhead and the frame, but is there anywhere else I should be concerned? What about doors? How much rust is still easy to fix with sanding/sealing? I know the bodies are aluminum but I want to make as informed decision if I buy one as possible. Also, can someone give me a quick checklist of other problem areas on a IIA to look over if I am considering buying? I have heard of checking the swivel ball seals and watching for grease in the brakes, but would like a thorough list of things to check. I am fairly mechanically knowledgeable about repairing older cars but am not familiar with Series trucks yet.
Thanks in Advance,
Jedidiah

bmohan55
12-29-2009, 07:13 AM
Read this...learn it and live it!
http://www.lrfaq.org/FAQ.4.main.html

badvibes
12-29-2009, 10:22 AM
I know the bulkhead and the frame, but is there anywhere else I should be concerned? What about doors?

Jedidiah-

Welcome to the madness.....

A couple of spots. Check the door top frames, they can hold water and rust from the inside out, you may even need to take the tops off the doors to check them out well. The rear crossmember where the frame rails tie into it, there are a couple of spots that can catch crud thrown up and rust won't show until it's eaten all the way thru to the outside where it can be seen. Oh yeah, the cubby under the drivers seat, it can be rusted thru.

Jeff

scott
12-29-2009, 12:19 PM
pull off the hitch plate, the rear xmbr will rot there

rovertek
12-30-2009, 07:08 AM