PDA

View Full Version : Newbie question - Leak

Nanoose
01-11-2010, 02:22 PM
I have a 55 Series 1, 86" which has been running fine since I dealt with the carb and distributor issues. I've been using it as a daily driver for a couple of months and decided that some general maintenance was in order. When I got the truck I did all the normal checks (well, most of them) and everything seemed in order. I decide this weekend to change the gear case and transfer case oil.

I drained the gear case, oil looked fine and I re-filled it. I removed the plug at the bottom of the bell housing too and no oil was in it.

I then removed the drain plug from the transfer case. A bit less than a liter drained out, but what did come out looked fine. Clear, not dirty. I then re-filled the transfer case and when for a quick spin. When I got back I checked and there was oil leaking from the plug in the bell housing. I removed it, drained what was there and put it back in. (For what it's worth, the plug was in when I got the truck and, other than to check for oil, I leave it in).

Went to work this morning and came out at lunch to find a largish puddle of oil under the truck. It looks like it's draining from either the plug in the bell housing or from somewhere on the transfer case. Is there something obvious I'm missing? Any thoughts on how best to diagnose?

The truck seems to be running great, no odd noises, no slipping of gears - just the puddle of oil...

Thanks in advance!

Dave

Jeff Aronson
01-11-2010, 02:57 PM
Dave,

For clarity, are you saying that you did not notice a leak until you filled the transfer case with new hypoid?

Can you determine whether the leaking oil is hypoid or motor oil? A leak at the rear main seal may seem like a leak around the bell housing or transfer case because of the location of the puddle. There is a gasket at the bottom of the transfer case, and you might find that you can gently tighten the numerous bolt heads there.