PDA

View Full Version : Looking at a Series IIA

albersj51
05-28-2010, 08:51 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm going to look at a 1967 Series IIA today. I am new to Rovers, so I am hoping you all can give me some things to look out for. The seller is a british car shop and they redid the brakes and exhaust on it. Body looks good. There is "minor" rust in the rear crossmember and the bulkhead. I used to own an International Scout, so I know rust. However, how hard is it to replace the rear crossmember by yourself? I have a buddy that has a MIG Welder and some experience...can this be done by the shade tree mechanic?
The bulkhead is also a concern. The rust it has is around the bottom corners (that I can tell). Is this a big deal? Any way for me to get a closer/deeper look?
Anything else I should be on the lookout for?
Any special engine or body parts that are weak on these?
Lastly, whats the going rate for a 1967 Series IIA (converted to LHD in England, with paperwork), 2.25L Petrol engine, and some rust? I've heard $5K-$6K.

Thank you!

bmohan55
05-28-2010, 08:56 AM
this is a great site for the info you are seeking
http://www.lrfaq.org/FAQ.4.main.html

As far as price, to me it seem a bit high for one with rust issues but who knows. I'd look thru the for sale section here to get an idea of asking prices.
good luck

galen216
05-28-2010, 09:01 AM
The rear crossmember is an easy Saturday job with 2 people and a welder. I did it and had never done it before.

galen216
05-28-2010, 09:02 AM
Follow-up:

Where are you and any pics? Likely someone is close and could possibly go over it with you.

albersj51
05-28-2010, 09:25 AM
The Rover is just outside Asheville, NC. I'm going to look at it this afternoon. Here are some pics of it:

http://www.oldenglishcars.com/id13.html

I'd love to get feedback on price vs visible condition.

Wander
05-28-2010, 09:43 AM