PDA

View Full Version : Thermostatic Fan Controller Ideas

crankin
06-02-2010, 01:25 PM
Has anyone found a good quality thermostat fan controller? The UK boys say that X-eng makes a wonderful product (http://www.x-eng.co.uk/X-Fan.asp)... But with shipment and everything getting up there dollar wise... I was wondering if the states offered anything as good or better.

greenmeanie
06-02-2010, 01:32 PM
I've no experience with it but Painless makes a lot of these.

mongoswede
06-02-2010, 01:41 PM
Has anyone found a good quality thermostat fan controller? The UK boys say that X-eng makes a wonderful product (http://www.x-eng.co.uk/X-Fan.asp)... But with shipment and everything getting up there dollar wise... I was wondering if the states offered anything as good or better.

yep. there are lots of easy ways to control the fan. Essentially you wire the fan through a relay and a thermo switch mounted in either the upper radiator hose, the lower hose, or the radiator. When the fan switch closes the radiator turns on. My plan is to go to use one of these from a Saab which is used to control the AC compressor:

#12 in this picture:

http://data.eeuroparts.com/Images/diagrams/lg_5d8e1131-1734-465e-8171-a62eb68e0649.GIF

basically a pipe with a threaded fitting built in that accepts a thermo switch. Place this in the lower radiator hose so that it measures the temp of the coolant coming out of the radiator. Then wire your fan through the switch. You can then change out the switches for winter and summer time use to allow more heat in the winter and more cooling in the summer.

crankin
06-02-2010, 03:14 PM
That is a temp switch hose adaptor from a late 80s Saab 900, right?

mongoswede
06-02-2010, 03:20 PM

Depends on the vehicle but usually around 180 deg F in the summer and around 200 deg F in the winter. Application, engine type, and use may dictate otherwise.

crankin
06-02-2010, 03:30 PM