Thread: "Mid Gray" paint?

Default "Mid Gray" paint?

Help!

I am new to Series ownership and recently purchased a 1974 Series III RHD SWB with pre-existing damage to the wings. I am going to have these fixed and I several questions about repairs which may be pretty basic. I am planning to have a family friend (who restores even older vehicles) straighten out the damaged parts and then repaint them, but I am a little worried about getting the paint matched correctly. I have no interest in repainting the entire vehicle as I believe the paint is original (color is mid-gray(?), she has had an easy life, so the paint is in great shape). Any recommendations on types of paint to use in order to most closely match the rest of the vehicle without redoing large portions? And what type of paint was originally used on these…was it a lacquer? I have been told that my best bet would be to use either a single stage acrylic or to go with clear coat/base coat. Any recommendations? Anything to avoid?

I did not see any old threads directly on point - hopefully I am not repeating a thread issue previously addressed...
    ~ Corey

1974 Series III RHD SWB
    2003 Freelander

I can't give you much info on the paint but make sure the person straightening panels knows how to work with Aluminum as aluminum work hardens with bending and pounding and needs t be re-annealed occasionally while the work is going on.

I may be stating the obvious for your friend but it isn't a bad thing to ask.
    1958 107 SW - Sold to a better home
    1965 109 SW - nearly running well
    1966 88 SW - running but needing attention
    1969 109 P-UP

http://www.facebook.com/album.php?ai...2&l=64cfe23aa2

Single stage, lots of good choices out there. Series didn't have clear\base. Either way it will be tought to match the new paint with the old paint and it's patina. Time and weathering will help you out there.

I love the factory gray....