Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to do with "Betsy"

Default What to do with "Betsy"

Hey guys, I need everyones opinion on my Classic. I own an 89 that was my fathers from new. I drove it for about a year and a half when I first got my license in high school. ALWAYS had the death wobble and tons of other problems but at the time I didnt care about any of it. Bought a shop manual and attempted all the problems down the road with my young brain and my tools. Finally when I went to college I couldnt afford it. It was either gas or parts for "Betsy" ( Name of my Truck) and I finally had to switch to somthing else. So now Im in my second year of college and have some money and have been thinking of what to do with her. I started her the other day and the EFI light was on, cosmeticly the truck isnt that great, and it runs poor. I brought it to The Rover Shoppe to get it apprasied and it was a LONG list to say the least. So my question is, should I try to repair my forever love and bring it back to what it deserves, or should I start seriously looking for another? Any imput would help, thanks.
    Kelsey M
    1989 Range Rover Classic
    1971 Series 2A 88"

Your decison may come to determining if this is a 1) based on a love for betsy and all the memories that come with her or 2) a financial / practical decision.

There are other options (like if you love working on car projects) but I left those out becuase 1 and 2 seemed to cover what you said in your original post.

Once you decide why you are makeing the choice and once you decide if you can make that choice. (for example -you might love her and want to keep her regardless of the $$ but have no place to park her) then I think it will all fall in place for you.