Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: clutch master cylinder rebuild

Default clutch master cylinder rebuild

I am getting some pretty serious brake fluid leakage down the clutch pedal arm, so I assume that I have a clutch master cylinder problem. Is a rebuild on one of these a big job? I took the side of the front wing off to get a better look at it but it looks like I may have to take the top part of the wing off also to get better access to the pedal assembly that covers the master cylinder. I assume that the rebuild kit comes with new rubber for the cylinder, but never having done this job before, I would appreciate any advice from those that have done it before. Any tips/warnings/dos, don'ts?

thanks...

Dan in NC
    1966 Land Rover Series IIA
    109" NADA 6 cylinder #34300083A

i'm pretty sure that you'll need to buy a brake hone to clean up the insides...but i'm not totally sure on that

Sounds like you are on the right track, the clutch master has probably gone out. I'm not a big fan of rebuilding brake or clutch cylinders - it can be done, but if you're not 100% on your hone job it won't last long. The new rubber that comes in the rebuild kits doesn't seem as sturdy as the OE cups. IMO you'd be better off buying a new one.

Mech
    1960 SII 88 NADA HT w/OD and HEAT!!

former pro Series mechanic

If the inside of the MC isn't too badly scored, you could rebuild it. You will need to get a brake/wheel cylinder hone to hone the inside of the bore, then flush it well. Just pay attention to where/how you take the rubber parts off and put the new ones back in the same place. The clutch MC is much less complex than the brake MC. Having said that, sometimes it's easier and more reliable to just buy a new MC. Be careful of aftermarket MC's. Some are OK, some are junk.