PDA

View Full Version : Just got a 79 Santana...weak injector pump?

AirmanPika
03-08-2012, 11:20 AM
OK so first post of probably many. Just recently got a 79 Santana off ebay. It is getting delivered tomorrow. Anyway, per the owner the Diesel Injector pump is weak and needs work. Apparently this is causing the engin not to run at full power. Any thoughts on this? As I understand it, injector pumps are usually fairly solid even at this age so could it be something else common to these 2.25 diesel engines?

If it is the pump, what is involved in replacing them? I've found a couple possible sources for replacement pumps but I've read some things regarding timing and so on. Anoy sort of specialized tools needed? I'm a noob regarding diesel (part of the reason I wanted to get one) so this is all a learning experience for me.

SafeAirOne
03-08-2012, 03:28 PM
Which diesel is installed in the '79 Santana?

Diesel shops charge roughly $500 +- a few hundred to rebuild 'normal' 4-cylinder injector pumps. This varies from shop to shop and region to region, but that's about what it was in NH last time I checked.

My first instinct would be to check that there are ABSOLUTELY NO restrictions/impediments to full fuel flow from the bottom of the tank to the injector pump, including tubes, hoses, filters and fuel pumps before I started messing with the injector pump. This is especially so if the truck runs fine at low and moderate RPMs and loads, but lacks power at higher revs and power demands.

yorker
03-08-2012, 04:26 PM
IF it does indeed need work you can get it rebuilt easily enough, they are very common.

Quinten Haney
H&H Diesel Performance
qdaddy83@yahoo.com
618-925-1262

Rebuilds the lucas pumps for ~$300 with all Viton seals etc.

see also:
http://www.smokstak.com/forum/showthread.php?t=55652

Moose
03-08-2012, 04:56 PM