Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: In need of advice buying a 1969 IIA 88

Default In need of advice buying a 1969 IIA 88

Hey everyone, I was hoping to get some advice from you guys on here before I close the deal on a IIA that has been sitting for 4 years..

I'm not completely new to projects as I restored my old Honda bike and went through a frame swap on my Jeep YJ, but I am new to LR in general. The Series IIA seems to have nothing in common with my old wrangler, one of the most noticeable in my eyes is the a availability of parts...

I read the handy articles that some of you posted on here with tips for buying a series rover. But I was hoping you guys could chime in my case..

Here are a few pics..
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1375790894.706050.jpg 
Views:	348 
Size:	77.7 KB 
ID:	8583Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1375790918.916155.jpg 
Views:	368 
Size:	73.6 KB 
ID:	8584

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1375790939.582893.jpg 
Views:	378 
Size:	67.1 KB 
ID:	8585

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1375790957.832866.jpg 
Views:	375 
Size:	80.3 KB 
ID:	8586

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1375790978.983028.jpg 
Views:	367 
Size:	63.1 KB 
ID:	8587

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1375790998.916920.jpg 
Views:	366 
Size:	65.2 KB 
ID:	8588

As you could see it does need frame work but the rig does run and drive despite sitting for 4 years.. Im not too sure if I want to get into another frame swap, I had to replace a lot of parts on my YJ as I swapped the frame, I am little afraid that It will be impossible to find such parts for this rig..

It has 79k miles showing on the odometer, I can take it home for $1000. What do you guys think, it is worth it? My main concern is finding parts..

Any advice will be highly appreciated, thanks in advance!

Finding original parts might be tough, finding aftermarket parts is a little easier.